Promoted by CBF, e-Brasileirão opens registration and will have two formats this year
Photo: Thais Magalhães/CBF

The e-Brasileirão, a virtual football championship promoted by the Brazilian Football Confederation (CBF), opened registration on August 6th. After six seasons, the competition arrives with some changes and two formats this year.

The first novelty refers to the e-Brasileirão PRO in partnership with Konami. For the first time, this tournament will feature only professional players. According to the GE, Rock in Rio will receive the final stage of this dispute. While the second format will take place in an Open edition in the same style as previous years.

e-Brasileirão PRO

The new format of the dispute will have two phases. The first will be fully online on August 19, 20 and 21 with 35 teams. The teams will be distributed in brackets and will face each other in round-trip games, all against all, until the four semifinalists are known. The system of the next phase, however, will be different.

Scheduled for the 2nd and 3rd of September, the final phase will feature a quadrangular in which everyone will measure forces again. In this stage, players will play individual matches at the same time, each result will influence the aggregate value of points and goals for the decision. The games will be defined blindly, as each team determines who will play without knowing which opposing player is in front of them.

After the first online phase, CBF and Konami will hold the decisive quadrangular of the e-Brasileirão PRO during Rock in Rio. The music festival will host matches at the Game Play Arena over two days (September 2nd and 3rd). Remembering that this will be the first occasion in which the final of the competition will not take place at the official headquarters of the CBF.

Champions in e-Brasileirão history

Over the six editions of the digital football championship promoted by the CBF, three participants have already taken home the desired champion’s cup. Guilherme Fonseca (GuiFera) is the highlight with three titles (2016, 2020 and 2021), Henrique Mesquita (HenrykhO) won twice (2017 and 2018) and Thiago Avaré was the winner in 2019.

According to information from the official profile of the competition, the champion of the 2022 edition will receive R$ 25 thousand and the runner-up will pocket R$ 5 thousand.